Started making this blog today, after reading other people’s math- or physics related blogs and noticing that a researcher’s online visibility is nowadays considered to be an advantage when research proposals, grant applications and similar things are evaluated.

During the last 12 years, I have worked in several projects, most of which has been about computational chemistry (molecular quantum mechanics) or computational physics (hydrodynamics, nonlinear elasticity), except for some laboratory work that I did when preparing my physics B.Sc. and M.Sc. theses. I was a chemistry major in the early stage of my university studies, and changing the major subject later caused a significant delay in my graduation, which is the reason I’m still working on my Ph.D. now at age of over 30… Fortunately my current project, related to fire safety engineering, is one where knowledge of both chemistry (oxidation kinetics and thermodynamics of various fuels) and applied physics are of use.

Topics I’m interested in include the mechanics of classical systems that exhibit chaotic behavior and/or instabilities (some examples are turbulent flow of gases and liquids, and buckling instabilities in elastic materials), but also calculation of approximate eigenvalue spectra and wavefunctions for quantum systems, as well as trying to find new exactly solvable ones. The latter is not related to the actual work I’m doing, though.

-TI

